Well, hello there

I’ve had a dream of starting a music blog for a long time. I remember the day – it seems forever ago now – that I came up with this idea. I was a young, naive girl of 30, and it was September 7, 2014. I was at Governors Beach Club listening to a Sublime tribute band, and as I danced along to Summertime I thought to myself, “I should start a music blog.” The next day, after trying about 600 URLs that were already taken, Not My Forte was born.

I already hate the corny name of this blog, but much like when I step out the door in the morning and I see that it’s raining and yet again I am without an umbrella, I press on. For I have gone too far to turn back.

Really though, this blog has been a long time coming, and I’m ecstatic that it’s here. I’ve always been into music as much as anyone else, but around a year and a half ago, for no apparent reason, I started aggressively consuming new music and paying a lot more attention to artists outside the realm of what’s played on the radio. A 2014 goal that I set of attending 52 concerts in 52 weeks kicked my music obsession into even higher gear (as of right now, I’ve attended 73 shows this year, and I’m patting my overachieving self on the back).

As a result, I think about music a lot. I think about music venues and the new genres I’ve been listening to and comparisons between artists. I’m ecstatic when I introduce a new artist to someone and even more ecstatic when they introduce a new artist to me. I’m always on the lookout for someone to talk shop with, or I guess, in the case of a blog, to talk shop at.

As the puntastic name of this blog would suggest, I don’t actually know a lot about music. I don’t play an instrument (I could probably still play some mean scales on the flute, if I knew where mine was), don’t sing, don’t know anything about music theory, and am generally not the best at talking about music in any type of intellectual way. The wonderful thing about music, however, is that you can enjoy it however you like, analytically or not. So this is going to be my new, humble internet abode, where I write about shows and bands and everything in between.

Maybe I’ll get bored of this blog in 4 days, as is often the case with specialty blogs (remember the business blog I had for a year after finishing my MBA?). Maybe I’ll write in it for the rest of my life. I have a feeling it’ll be somewhere in between those 2 extremes.

Let’s get started, shall we?

One thought on “Well, hello there

  1. Pingback: Happy Anniversary To Me! | Not My Forte

Leave a Reply

