Everybody Loves “Get Ur Freak On”

It’s true. Do you like that song? Obviously you answered “yes,” which proves my point.

Missy Elliott’s “Get Ur Freak On” is arguably one of the best and most influential rap songs of all time, according to a poll I just conducted whose sole respondent was myself. The song is so great, in fact, that those polled were even willing to forgive its use of the word, “Ur,” allowing for the fact that the song came out in 2001 and that probably was cool at the time.

But think about it. You’re at a bar. Or at home. Or walking down the street. Or even just listening to the music in your own head. You hear those first few notes. Listen from just the 12 second mark to the 15 second mark in this video.

How instantly and immediately pumped up are you? “I LOVE THIS SONG!” you yell aloud, or at the very least, think loudly.

Remember the Superbowl halftime show, when it was all la la Katy Perry left shark blah blah and then…SURPRISE MISSY ELLIOTT. You died of joy, I know you did. I didn’t even watch the Superbowl live so by the time I saw the halftime show on YouTube the next day, not only was I well aware that Missy was going to show up, but I had already read the Buzzfeed detailing how wonderful her performance was and how some idiot teenagers had no idea who she is (DISRESPECTFUL), and I still got super excited when she popped up.

Let me prove to you how much everyone loves Missy Elliott. I’m going to let you in on a secret.

Missy is making a comeback!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I KNOW, RIGHT???

_________________________________

Okay, that statement is not actually true. But weren’t you, for a hot minute, so pumped about that? Because she’s the greatest and if she decided to return to the rap world, we would all rejoice.

I spend an inordinate amount of time wondering when, if ever, I’m going to go to a concert and hear one of my favorite DJs drop “Get Ur Freak On.” Why has no one remixed this yet? Or are there remixes out there that I’m not aware of? Not that this song needs to be remixed. It’s perfect as is.

I basically listened to this song on repeat as I wrote this blog post. I do not regret it.

One thought on “Everybody Loves “Get Ur Freak On”

  1. Pingback: Introducing: Curated Playlists! | Not My Forte

Leave a Reply

