My 10 Favorite Songs OF ALL TIME

Trying to determine your favorite songs of all time is stressful, because trying to determine your favorite anything of all time is stressful. How do you know what you’re going to love forever and ever? The answer: you don’t. So I’ve carefully compiled this list of what I believe to be my 10 favorite songs of all time, acknowledging that if you ask me again in a few years this may not be the same (though I imagine there’d be some overlap). This means that no matter how much I may love a song right now, if I only heard it for the first time in the last few years, it was more or less ineligible for this list because I needed to include songs that stood the test of time. I did make a few exceptions though, because,  you know, my blog my rules.

What’s cool about this list is that I love all of these songs (obviously), but this list is so unrepresentative of what I listen to right now (i.e. minimal electronic presence). The fact that I still love these songs so much makes me happy because it means that I haven’t gone 100% over to the dark/electronic side. Here goes!

1. Weezer, “The Good Life” 

A classic.

2. Missy Elliott feat. Ciara, “Lose Control” 

I don’t know why I love this song so much. I just do.

3. Red Hot Chili Peppers, “Under the Bridge” 

Fun fact: even though this is a slow song it makes an excellent choice for karaoke because everyone loves it and it has great belting potential.

4. Santigold, “GO!” 

I love Santi. WHERE IS SHE THESE DAYS?

5. Big Gigantic, “Fantastic” 

Big G is one of the few artists that I have been straight up obsessed with since the first note of the first song I ever heard. This was that song.

6. Foo Fighters, “Everlong” 

As a huge FF fan it seems almost unfair to choose arguably their most popular song as my favorite, but…it’s a damn good song. Second place: Bridge Burning. 

7. Darude, “Sandstorm”

I think I’m supposed to feel guilty about this one but I refuse to. I have listened to this song consistently since it came out in 2000. My friend and I waited through 90 minutes of Darude’s other crap music at 1am on a weeknight just to hear this song (it actually wasn’t worth it, but it was still amazing to hear this song live).

8. Weezer, “The Greatest Man That Ever Lived”

 Yup, another Weezer song. I love this one because it’s long and takes you on a journey. A friend told me that she once listened to an NPR interview with lead singer Rivers Cuomo and he said this was his favorite song that he’s ever written.

9. Gramatik, “Illusion of Choice” 

This song has a harp. A HARP.  Badass. What’s great about this song is that I love every remix I’ve heard of it, which I can’t say for most of the songs I love (I’m a purist, what can I say?).

10. Linkin Park, “Bleed It Out” 

What happened to Linkin Park? I think it’s uncool to like them these days but you know what? I never professed to be cool. I will always have a soft spot for Linkin Park and the time I saw them at Madison Square Garden will remain one of my favorite concerts of all time.

Leave a Reply

