2019, By the Numbers

Every year as I sit to write this post, “It’s the most wonderful tiiiiiime of the year” plays through my head. Which is funny because I hate Christmas music, although the day I pull out the trusty old pivot tables to look at the previous year’s concert stats is certainly a day that gives me the warm and fuzzies.

2019 has come and gone. How did I do?

Surprisingly consistent these last few years even though I feel like I’m getting so much lazier.

When it comes to venues, Brooklyn Bowl wins again! For the 4th year in a row, although 2016 data isn’t pictured here. And congrats to the Stone Pony in Asbury Park, NJ for making this list for the first time. There were 6 venues that I went to 3 times that I didn’t list out. Webster Hall has reopened (woohoo!), there is nothing in the space previously inhabited by Output, and Irving Plaza will supposedly reopen after renovations.

I really crushed it on free shows this year. 30% is a solid number, particularly when 2/3 of those shows were ones that I managed to go to for free even though they weren’t actually free. Good job, self.

I need to do better at paying higher than face value for shows, even though I think 8 of those 9 are because I pay $35 a month for Jukely (the concert subscription service) and sometimes only go to one show that could have a value of, say, $20. But what I’ve learned about my Jukely subscription are 2 things:

  1. There is some value in learning about shows through Jukely that I otherwise wouldn’t have known about. I cannot quantify that value but it sometimes makes up for the gap in actual concert ticket value. But even if I don’t get my money’s worth each month, I’m still getting my money’s worth for the year, so..that counts for something (right?).
  2. I have Stockholm Syndrome because I always threaten to quit Jukely and never do. SIGH.

Odesza 2 years running! Happy that Gramatik is back on this list – he was on it in 2015 and 2016 but fell off for awhile.

For what it’s worth, during the 26 consecutive days where I went to 0 concerts, I was in Japan for about 19 of them.

Yet again, during the month of October, when I only saw 1 show, I was in Japan for over half of it. So I have an excuse, not that I need one. For my 3-shows-in-one-day day, I went to one in the morning before work (!), and then 2 at night. This was a first for me.

In keeping with tradition, here are some excerpts from my post-show notes of 2019:

“No one around me was standing which sucked but I stood and danced because F all of those idiots.” (Weezer at MSG) (Wow, so aggressive!)

“This was so wholesome.” (BBMAK at Gramercy Theatre)

“The last song was just so GOD and LORD and I was like…what.” (GRiZ at Kings Theatre)

“At their last set I felt like…okay I understand why people like them.” (The Disco Biscuits at Bisco)

“Her music is actually not that good. Mostly trying to reclaim a dead career.” (Iggy Azalea at Bowery  Ballroom)

“DC didn’t play the dog bread song but whatever, I’ll forgive him.” (Denzel Curry at Outside Lands – dog bread song, for reference, is below).

“The music was solid though I don’t think I’ll ever be fully converted to weird bass music.” (Space Jesus at Coney Island)

“Most of the time it was kind of good background type music and then she’d throw in a banger periodically and everyone would go nuts.” (Mija at Elsewhere)

“For the first time in maybe ever, I wish the music had been louder.” (Big Gigantic at Brooklyn Mirage)

“I hate them but this was incredible. Have they gotten better or has my taste in music changed?” (Dispatch at Sea Hear Now)

“Somehow understated but also extra at the same time.” (Gesaffelstein at Kings Theatre)

That’s it for 2019! I don’t have any shows on the horizon for 2020 until March (!) though I’m sure something will come up soon. I doubt I’ll hit 60 shows again this year, although I said that last year so..to be continued!

2 thoughts on “2019, By the Numbers

  1. Pingback: A Sad 2020 “Live” Music Roundup | Not My Forte

  2. Pingback: 2021 Live Music Recap! | Not My Forte

Leave a comment