The Best and Worst of 2014

Every music publication has a year-end “best of” list, and this very reputable music publication is no different. I went to a lot of shows in 2014, and here are my favorites and least favorites, along with some yearbook-style superlatives (stats and other unrelated comments about some shows I went to this year are in the “by the numbers” post).

Top 10 Shows of 2014 (in chronological order):
– Break Science, Bowery Ballroom
– Gramatik, Webster Hall
– Big Gigantic, Spring Awakening Music Festival (Chicago)
– Lindsey Stirling, Terminal 5
– Savoy, Hudson Music Project
– Bassnectar/Big Gigantic, Madison Square Garden
– Odesza, Bowery Ballroom
– Manic Focus, Voodoo Experience (New Orleans)
– Pretty Lights, Voodoo Experience (New Orleans)
– The Sweater Songs, Brooklyn Bowl

And now…

The Worst 10 Shows of 2014
– Basshunter, Amazura
– Com Truise, Bowery Ballroom
– Com Truise, Webster Hall (fool me once…)
– James Blake, Governors Ball
– Dum Dum Girls, Prospect Park
– Diplo, Webster Hall
– Orchard Lounge, Glasslands Gallery
– Carrie Underwood, Global Citizen Festival
– Hoodlem, The Foundation
– Bombay Bicycle Club, Terminal 5

I had a really hard time with that list. There were a lot of shows, both amazing and garbage, that didn’t make the cut but deserve to be recognized. But I’m comfortable enough with it for now. Looking at this “worst of” list makes me so angry. Let’s move on to the more random awards!

Best Throwback Show
TLC (is it really still TLC when “L” is no longer alive? RIP), Beacon Theater

Most Random Show
Breaking Bad Opera (yup), Holy Apostles Church

Best Venue
This is a tie between Output and Bowery Ballroom

Worst Venue
285 Kent

Worst Venue That Did Not Close This Year
Marquee. Where New York’s worst go to party.

Worst Smelling Crowd
Shpongle, Irving Plaza

Most Improved Artist
Paper Diamond (Spring Awakening set was terrible, set at Tower Theater in Philly was amazing)

Best Artist That I Saw At A Spa Party While Dancing In A Bathrobe and Flip Flops
Wax Motif

Most Overrated Mainstream Artist
Avicii, Barclays Center

Least Overrated Mainstream Artist
Lady Gaga, Roseland Ballroom

Best Recovery From Technical Difficulties
Beardyman, Output (He beatboxed – amazingly – while the sound guy fixed the equipment)

Best Holograms
Eric Prydz, Madison Square Garden

Best VIP Concert Experience (out of…2)
Trombone Shorty, Terminal 5

Worst Coat Check Experience
Skrillex, SRB Brooklyn

Relatively Unknown Artist I Most Want to Succeed
Tkay Maidza

Artist I Never Expected To See Once, Let Alone Twice
Jennifer Hudson

Peace out, 2014! It was a good one.

5 thoughts on “The Best and Worst of 2014

  1. Pingback: 2014 Concerts, By the Numbers | Not My Forte

  2. Pingback: The Best Concerts Are the One Where I Don’t Take Pictures | Not My Forte

  3. Pingback: Concert Review: Borahm Lee at The Knitting Factory | Not My Forte

  4. Pingback: Phantoms are the Next Odesza | Not My Forte

  5. Pingback: The Best and Worst of 2015 | Not My Forte

Leave a comment